

() topen 2022

**Our mission: Providing Safe, Reliable Electricity** Office: 22458 Highway 2, PO Box 70 Bloomfield, IA 52537-0070 Phone: 641-664-2277 or 800-607-2027

#### Phone Payments: 800-927-5341

Report Outages: 800-607-2027 Call Before You Dig: 800-292-8989 Website: www.sie.coop Office Hours: Mon.-Fri. 8:00am-4:30pm **Closed Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays** Management

Greg Proctor, CEO/General Manager Ross Hunter, COO/Systems Analyst Lindsay Smith, Office Services/Accounting Mgr. Kelly Moore, Human Resources Manager

**Board of Directors** 

Darrell Downing, President Travis Harris, Vice President Earl Trachsel, Secretary Dave Yahnke, Treasurer

**Fred Zeitler Rodney Reck** Susan Knapp **Jason Wells** 

**Trent Gregory** 

What to Do in Case of Trouble

\*Check for blown fuses or tripped breakers. \*Check with neighbors and ask if their electricity is off and if they have reported the outage. If not, call Southern Iowa Electric Cooperative and report the problem 24 hours a day at 641-664-2277 or 800-607-2027.

Service Charges			
Bill Collection	\$50	Disconnect	\$50
Posting	\$50	Returned Check	\$30
Reconnect	\$75	Trip Charge	\$50

Meter Tampering....\$150

### **Decorate Safely**

Pumpkins don't last forever and neither do light strands. Remember to check all outdoor decorations and cords before using them.

> For more safety tips go to: SafeElectricity.org

## **Connecting with Teachers**

### Energy in Today's Classroom

SIEC and Northeast Missouri Power Cooperative sponsored four teachers to attend a two-day course on "Energy in Today's Classroom". This graduate-level course, offered through the University of Missouri-Columbia, provides teachers with a background in energy and energy production. Teachers who successfully complete the course receive one hour of graduate course credit from the University of Missouri, which is equivalent to 15 hours of professional development.

All four teachers sponsored by SIEC teach at Cardinal Community Schools. They were Andrea Cottey, Kim Tripp, Monica Roberts, all middle school Special Education teachers, and Rafael Crisosto, high school science teacher. We asked the teachers to share their thoughts on the program and this is what they had to say:

Andrea said, "I thought it was an excellent, very well planned and organized program. I recommend it be continued. I learned a lot and came home with some useful ideas that will be easy to implement into lessons in many parts of my curriculum."

Kim said, "Let me start by saying, 'thank you' for providing this opportunity to come together with others to learn more about energy and how we can share it in our classrooms. The staff who organized and presented the training went above and beyond expectations. Those presenting were very knowledgeable and did an amazing job answering any and all guestions. The electric cars were also a great addition to the training. I would highly recommend this training to others in the future!"

Rafael said, "The Teacher Education program at the University of Missouri was an amazing experience. It was very informative not only with the basics of electrical work but also how it incorporates into science. There was a lot of information that I was not aware of that I will be able to add to my own personal lessons. The hands-on experience was incredible because it was something that we can recreate in our own classrooms and have students understand circuits and energy. This type of program is something that I would look forward to every single year if possible."

Above and Right: Kim Tripp (L) and Andrea Cottey (R) Below: Kim Tripp (L) and Rafael Crisosto (R)

Above: Andrea Cottey Below L-R: Rafael Crisosto, Monica Roberts, Kim Tripp, Andrea Cottey



# -> ANNUAL MEETIN

FACTS

FIGURES

Elected ...

Reports

The Treasurer and GM reports were posted on social media through videos made by Grace Fleming.

## 2022-2023 Officers

President - Darrell Downing Vice President - Travis Harris Secretary - Earl Trachsel **Treasurer - Dave Yahnke** Directors

## 765 ballots

This year voting took place by mail-in and in-person, which concluded on September 8, 2022, with a total of 765 members placing their votes.

- 2021 675 votes • 2020 - 718 votes
- 2019 575 votes
- 2018 612 votes
- 2017 684 votes
- 2016 735 votes

Susan Knapp of Bloomfield was newly elected to serve, receiving 415 votes

### SHUDDAR HA

Darrell Downing of Drakesville was reelected to serve, receiving 471 votes Jason Wells of Milton was newly elected to serve, receiving 415 votes

linemen!!

Logan Brassfield and Brock Kirchner have joined our coop family and we couldn't be more exited! Be sure to give them a warm welcome if you see them out and about!

**David Harrington** 

**Grand Prize Winner:** 



Member, Marissa Logterman, with her two children, Matthew (Spud) & Emma, at the 2022 Annual Meeting

### BROCK



SIEC welcomes two new

LOGAN